When most people think of DUI, they think of the charge received when driving a car under the influence of drugs or alcohol. However, DUI doesn’t just apply to cars. You can be charged with DUI for operating most types of vehicles with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above the legal limit of 0.08%.
VIRGINIA DRINKING AND BOATING LAWS
According to Virginia law, operating a boat with a BAC of 0.08% or higher is a Class 1 Misdemeanor and is punishable in up to $2,500 in fines, the loss of the privilege to operate a motorboat for up to one year, and/or up to 12 months in jail. Anyone caught operating a water vessel including a boat, sailboat, or personal watercraft with a BAC above the legal limit will likely be charged with BUI (boating under the influence). Additionally, anyone under the age of 21 caught operating a water vessel with a BAC of 0.02% or higher may be charged with BUI.
These regulations are put in place to protect boat operators, passengers, swimmers, and anyone else enjoying local waterways. Consuming alcohol while operating a boat is incredibly dangerous and increases the risk of an accident. In fact, alcohol use is a top five contributing factor in boat accidents, according to the United States Coast Guard.
Even if you do not consume alcohol while onboard a boat, it’s likely others will, particularly during the popular summer boating season. If you have been injured in a boat accident caused by someone else, our boating accident attorneys at Huffman & Huffman are here to protect your rights. We have over 150 years of combined experience and we can help you recover the compensation you deserve.
Contact Huffman & Huffman Brothers-in-Law, P.L.L.C. at (757) 599-6050 for a free consultation with our team today.
ROAD TRIP SAFETY TIPS FOR THE HOLIDAY SEASON
The time between Thanksgiving through New Year’s Day is a busy time of year – both in our personal lives and on the roads. It is also known as one of the most dangerous times to be on the road due to heavy traffic, distracted and drunk drivers, stress, and inclement weather. AAA predicts that...
DO I HAVE A CASE IF THE OTHER DRIVER LEFT THE SCENE OF AN ACCIDENT?
Hit-and-run accidents happen all the time even though fleeing the scene following a crash is against the law in Virginia. Many times, a driver will leave the scene of an accident because they are driving under the influence, without a license, or do not have auto insurance. According to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), more than...
7 NEW YEAR’S CELEBRATION SAFETY TIPS FOR 2020
So many people are waiting for 2020 to come to an end that New Year’s Eve has become the biggest and most important holiday for them this year. But celebrating New Year’s is going to need to look different this year due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. Without safety being kept in center focus, no...